top of page

NHS Alum Jai Woods gives back through $500 scholarship

Updated: May 19, 2020

Jai Woods, NHS Class of 2001, posted a video online last week offering a $500 scholarship to a deserving Nacogdoches County senior.

To apply for the scholarship, students may submit a video or letter to him at djjaiwoods@gmail.com by May 24. He and his wife will make the selection and announce it shortly thereafter.

Woods said he wanted to do something special for the seniors because he has a servant’s spirit and connects with young people.

“It’s something I’ve always wanted to do,” he said. “I was blessed with a pretty handsome academic scholarship when I graduated, but I also received a lot of smaller scholarships ranging from $100 to $500, from different organizations. That stayed with me all these years. When the Class of 2020 had their school year canceled, memories of my senior year made me want to spring into action on their behalf.”

Woods said he has many great memories of his time at NHS, and one of the best memories is meeting his wife. They started dating in high school. He still has many other friendships and connections that began in the hallways and classrooms of NHS.

After graduating, Woods majored in business and psychology at SFA then went to Mediatech in Dallas to further his education in audio production.

“I landed my job at FUNimation while still at Mediatech, so when I finished school I stayed and I have been there ever since,” he said. “It was also during this time that I married my high school sweetheart. We’ve been blessed with three of the coolest kids ever.”

The Woods family lives in Arlington, and Jai works as the lead recording engineer for FUNimation.

“I get to work on some of the biggest and best titles in anime,” he said. “It’s not exactly where I saw myself when I graduated, but it’s been a huge blessing to my family and me. I also DJ and have a home studio.”

Woods said those want to apply for the scholarship he’s offering should either video or e-mail their submissions to him by May 24.

“They should tell us a little bit about themselves and how their senior year has been affected, as well as how this scholarship could help,” he said.

Woods said he hopes the scholarship will ease financial burdens and encourage the recipient to keep striving and to be persistent, even when surrounded by chaos.

“I hope they’ll remember this scholarship, pay it forward, and remember love comes with no strings attached,” he said.

Woods also donated a senior photography session with Cortney Tindall.

“Cortney and I recently worked a wedding together,” he said. “She took a photo of me in action that I smile at every time I see it. By donating a senior session, I could give something not only to the seniors but another small business, and a friend.”

Woods said whoever wins the photo session will have a day with a great photographer who will capture a crazy moment in time, given everything surrounding their senior year.

“It’s definitely something they can tell their kids about someday,” he said.

Cortney posted on her Facebook page that seniors who are interested in the photoshoot should send her a short bio through Facebook messenger. She will choose a senior for this special honor on Saturday, May 2.

He offered a piece of advice to all graduates.

“Take a moment to breathe,” he said. “Look around. I’m just one of thousands of people investing in the lives and futures of total strangers right now. We do it proudly and unprovoked because love conquers all.”


466 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page