top of page

Balancing work, school, sports: Kesinger is on the ball


By Carlos Rodriguez

Dragon Echo Staff

Balancing work and school can be challenging for any student, but add in a sport and other extra-curriculars, and good time management isn’t just a useful skill, it’s a necessity.

NHS Junior Mia Kesinger plays softball, is a trainer for the athletic program and works 15 to 20 hours per week at El Ranchero.

“My goal for the year is to be successful,” she said. “I want to keep everything balanced, make good grades and make varsity softball. My biggest challenge is finding time for everything. As an athletic trainer, Mia is getting to learn more about a field she might pursue after high school.

“I go to practice to make sure the athletes stay hydrated,” she said. “If they have injuries I assess them and learn what to do for more serious injuries.”

Mia said she might major in physical therapy in college, although she is also interested in law enforcement and might choose to go that direction.

Balancing school with work can be tiring, but Mia has been doing it since August. She works as a hostess at El Ranchero, one of the most popular Mexican food restaurants in Nacogdoches.

“What I like best about my job is the people,” she said. “I like talking and interacting with them and hearing their stories about how they balance everything.”

Of course, the delicious food is another perk of the job. The most popular item on the menu? Mia said "It’s #10, the fajitas."

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page